Skip to content

Rob Stenzinger – 30 Characters 30 Days

December 1, 2009

Wow there they are, 30 characters in 30 days! I offer a big thanks to everyone for all the encouragement and inspiration. Many of you have mentioned the awesome community feeling this challenge has created and I could not agree more! I have found many new artists to watch and watched some of my favorite artists dive deeper into their art.

My designs were all for two projects of mine: Art Geek Zoo: A music fantasy adventure that centers around a penguin (Pick Wingvey) and his mystical guitar friend (Crunchy). And also: Thellos Village: My future graphic novel and video game project about a village (Thellos) besieged nightly by monsters in the nearby woods.

This challenge was at times for me, ahem, a challenge. I have to admit feeling a sense of relief as I posted my 29th and 30th characters. I know I commented far less often as the days grew closer and closer to 30… as I was adjusting to the time it takes to do these in the way I wanted to do them that included time to play and learn tools and techniques I hadn’t yet practiced. What a great experience though, the practice made me more comfortable with digital painting in photoshop and with art processes for character creation. It’s been an awesome time exploring outside my comic creation comfort zone.

Javen Ackerman and Ken Drab – it rocks that you guys joined the challenge, it was frickin’ awesome to see your character posts and be a part of this with you guys.

Also a special thanks to Tyler James for being the instigator. Let me know when you throw down your next artist challenge (but please, give us at least a little rest first!).

A collage of all the characters designed by Rob Stenzinger during the 30 characters in 30 days challenge.

If you’d like to check out my other projects or connect via social media:
on twitter: @RobStenzinger
on facebook: http://www.facebook.com/rob.stenzinger
my comic: http://www.artgeekzoo.com

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2009 7:41 pm

    Rob, your stuff has a truly unique style and it’s taken me a while to figure out the specifics of what I like. Your characters have this rough but finished quality to them that many try to figure out. It reminds me a bit of Phil Foglio, and I dig. My favorite is actually your last piece, and I think I read somewhere you are just getting used to the tablet. I can kind of see that comfort forming/ getting better over the course of the month. I’m followin ya mate and hit me up if you have any PS tablet questions.

    • December 3, 2009 10:44 pm

      Wow, thank you! I’ll definitely keep practicing! And I’ll be sure to send any tablet questions your way. 🙂 I’m honored to be compared to Phil Foglio, I really dig his style with Girl Genius. I look forward to staying in touch.

  2. Crash! Landen permalink
    December 2, 2009 8:11 pm

    Crap! I thought I posted a “job well done” type post on your #30, Rob (sorry)! Anyway… I enjoyed seeing the musically inspired ‘toons that you’ve come up with this month (especially when you’ve done the Full On Coloring). As Dan said, your stuff is definitely unique. I can see your art on a Steve Vai album cover, for some reason (hopefully it would be one where he doesn’t sing, though). Every time I looked at your art (again, especially the colored stuff) I would picture loud raw guitar sounds and was reminded of awesomely cool 70s/80s Nelvana cartoons like Rock And Rule… except even weirder. Great stuff! Hope you succeed with both projects! 🙂

    • December 3, 2009 11:02 pm

      Hey Thanks! It’s actually a goal of mine to draw some album covers. Drawing one for Steve Vai would be incredible. 🙂 I never saw Rock and Rule (just looked it up) … I need to add that to my Netflix queue. I look forward to staying in touch.

Trackbacks

  1. The 30 Characters Challenge | | 30 Characters Challenger: Rob Stenzinger

Leave a comment