Skip to content

John Lees – 30 Characters Round-Up

December 1, 2009

Okay, I’m going to try and follow Tyler’s advice and make a post containing links to all 30 of my characters.  I have no idea how to post thumbnails, so I’m trying to figure it out now.   Hope I get it right.

EDIT:  ARGH, this is a pain in the ass!  The thumbnails keep on linking to the pictures, not the profiles.  And every time I painstakingly manually edit it to have it link to the profiles instead and press “Update”, it keeps on randomly reverting to linking to the pictures again!  Anyone know how to fix this?

EDIT AGAIN:  FIXED IT!

While I’m here, I just want to say thanks again to everybody who took the time to read my character profiles, especially those thoughtful enough to leave feedback – all of it was greatly appreciated.  And thanks for bearing with my shoddy artwork.  Like I said at the beginning, I’m a writer, not an artist, and  I only tried drawing my characters to better fit in with what everyone else was doing.  Hope the art didn’t detract from your enjoyment of the profiles.

This was a challenge, one I never thought I’d complete, so I’m proud of making it the whole way through.  It was great fun.  Tyler, many thanks for organising it all.  You should do another one of these, or a similar challenge, in the future!

Thanks again,

– John Lees

#1

#2

#3

#4

#5

#6

#7

#8

#9

#10

#11

#12

#13

#14

#15

#16 and #17

#18

#19

#20

#21

#22

#23

#24

#25

#26

#27

#28

#29

#30

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2009 2:19 pm

    1. Crop a section of the picture you want to use as a thumbnail in photoshop
    a. Set selection box to 100×70 or whatever, select inverse, delete.
    b. trim transparent pixels area, this is in Image/trim.
    save as copy

    2. Insert picture into post
    3. Add link in picture properties.
    Hope this helps.

    Done.

  2. December 1, 2009 2:32 pm

    Nice work man! The written word is just as important, interesting and valuable as the art and often times more so

  3. johnlees permalink
    December 1, 2009 3:03 pm

    Thanks for the advice, atombat, but I don’t think that’s the problem. It’s not the actual uploading of pics that’s a problem. I managed just fine inserting images from the media library in thumbnail size, then attaching a link URL to the character’s profile page. That works, doing that. After doing it, I can go to “Preview Post” and see my changes, see my thumbnail working as a link to the profile perfectly fine. So the problem isn’t how I’m making thumbnails. The problem is that when I’m done editing, no matter how fine it was in the previews, as soon as I press that “Update” button to confirm my changes, everything reverts back and the links are back to linking to the picture instead of the profile like it should.

    Thanks for the words of encouragement, Chris. I really enjoyed your work throughout the month!

  4. Crash! Landen permalink
    December 1, 2009 6:41 pm

    I feel your pain on the thumbnails, John. I tried doing it on my site first, not knowing that it was going to take me so long. After I got it to work, I just pasted everything from that post on my site to this site. Everything works fine, except the links all go to my site, which is probably ‘cheating’ or something. Oh well…

  5. December 2, 2009 12:21 am

    Great job making it all the way, and I too feel your thumnail-posting pain. I opted for a one-picture collage in the end.

  6. Crash! Landen permalink
    December 2, 2009 2:33 am

    I hope you’ll work some of your stories into scripts, John. I thought some like the Wall (your first entry) had really good potential.

  7. johnlees permalink
    December 2, 2009 7:21 am

    Thanks, Crash! I do intend to develop these ideas further. Already, I’ve sorted out and grouped up my 30 characters, and counted 12 stories that could come from them (13 if you count Varun Rao: Chaos Mathematician, though to be honest I don’t know if there IS a story there beyond that page! 🙂 ) . My next step is going to be writing up the first five pages of all these potential stories, then developing the most promising into full 22 page scripts.

Trackbacks

  1. 30-Character Showcase #1: Fabian Gray | John Lees Comics
  2. 30 Character Showcase #2: D. Oswald Heist | John Lees Comics

Leave a Reply

