Skip to content

Ralph Contreras – 30 Characters 30 Days

December 1, 2009

30characters30days-day01-Burn-Ralph-Contreras30characters30days-day02-Beta-ATES-005-Ralph-Contreras30characters30days-day03-Priest-of-Krain-Ralph-Contreras

This challenge was a blast! A month ago one of my twitter friends @BlaqueSaber told me about @TylerJamesComic and his idea of creating 30 characters in 30 days. He thought I would really be into the idea. Whazzza, He was right! I knew I wanted to participate the second I read about it. I had been doing a daily comic sketch on my own blogsite at the time, but the idea of creating a series of original characters just seemed to fun.

I had originally planned on coloring all my new characters in photoshop. Well that only worked for the 1st two. I went ahead and just posted my pencil drawings. These weren’t just sketches like I was doing on my own blogsite, they were tight and more refined. I found I started to get a rhythm and style with this series. The character design drawings look like my regular style of drawing but evolved into it’s own version of my style. I’m really pleased with the result.

Thanks to all the great comments on the characters, both the constructive and positive. Seeing everyone’s awesome work helped keep me motivated. For this challenge I was in the company of super cool artistic and creative people.  -SHAZAM!

Let’s be friends: Check out my blog and other social media spots.

TwitterFacebook

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2009 3:31 pm

    Nice work! Thanks again for posting this on twitter and clueing me in!

  2. December 2, 2009 12:42 am

    Very nice work! I dig your highlight style and fold style in your pencil work.

Leave a comment