Skip to content

#30 Squall

November 30, 2009

Last one! Nearly didn’t make it (on the last day, even)! Thanks to Tyler for issuing the challenge and thanks to everyone that offered encouragement and posted comments! This actually wasn’t as hard for me as I thought it would be…

Oh, and my last character: Squall. She, of the (metaphorically) windy day….

Can’t wait to actually tell a story with her participation….

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2009 12:12 am

    Nice job mate! Love the stylized swirls at the peaks of the hair. Very slick. She has a very Norse /Queen feel 🙂

  2. Crash! Landen permalink
    December 1, 2009 12:41 am

    Thanks, Dan! I was going for something Scandanavian I think. When I started drawing her I was listening to John Suntreusse (spelling’s probably wrong) on Word Balloon and he and his guest were talking about Kenneth Branaugh and the Thor movie. I’m easily influenced I guess.

  3. December 1, 2009 1:25 am

    Dan is right about the hair (Which always gives me trouble). I really like how you’ve included elements of her suit design from a couple different looking mythologies. Nice.

  4. Crash! Landen permalink
    December 1, 2009 2:15 am

    Thanks, Caine; I was just… what would be the word… riffin’? I don’t know. Probably not the right word… I like how she turned out, though; even if the colors are only ‘flat’….

  5. johnlees permalink
    December 1, 2009 4:10 am

    Lovely design, and the way you’ve drawn her gives a real sense of motion. You’ve done great over these 30 days, so congrats for a month of stellar work!

  6. December 1, 2009 9:30 am

    Wicked as always. I’ve been consistently impressed by (and jealous of) your work, especially the colouring. I hope I get a chance to see more of your work in the future.

  7. Crash! Landen permalink
    December 1, 2009 6:22 pm

    Thanks John! I always struggle (like a lot of people) with implying movement. I thought this actually looked ‘windy’, though…. And thanks for the compliments! I appreciate the positivity! 🙂

    Thanks, James! I’m always flattered when someone likes anything about my little cartoons… I think this was good for everybody that participated… (And, like I said on my last post, I’m hoping to get into the Zuda thing either this month or next. I’m hoping everyone at least checks it out if I ‘get in’. I worked pretty hard on it…)

Leave a Reply

