Skip to content

#29. David Nightshaw

November 29, 2009

David Nightshaw is the leader of the Nightshaw Warriors. The Nightshaw Warriors were my version of the Star Jammers from the Chris Claremont / John Byrne ere of the X-men back in the 80’s.

I created David while I was in High School. At the time, I was heavily influence by a wide range of comic books at the time… I got his mohawk idea from The Gladiator from the Shiar Warriors, I loved Grim Jack at the time so I gave him a Han Solo-like pistol and eye patch as that had a “Grim Jack” feel to it.

I used to keep all the characters in spiral notebooks with Marvel Universe bios for each. Unfortunately, I have no idea where those notebooks are any more and with the exception of one other Nightshaw Warrior character that I remember, all the others were pretty unforgettable and have been lost over the ages (unless, of course, I ever find those notebooks again).

Hope you all enjoy my one entry (so far) of “30 Characters”.

-Chris

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Crash! Landen permalink
    November 29, 2009 8:44 pm

    You really captured the Byrne mohawk! IMHO, Byrne’s one of the greatest cartoonists ever and can draw just about anything (“except horses”… his words, not mine), but he only draws one kind of mohawk and THIS IS IT (See Gladiator of the Shi-ar Imperial Guard…see also OMAC …). Nice cartoon! I wish this guy would put a shirt on, though…

  2. November 29, 2009 10:19 pm

    Hahahaha! Well, there’s a reason he’s shirtless. Although he has diamond-like skin, it’s still not impervious to scarring. There’s a long character history involved here. Probably way too long for this reply. But basically, he was a Captain of the Guard to a once peaceful emperor but then the emperor “turned” and David rebelled against his “King”.

    The Emperor cast him out and so David swore off wearing any type of uniform and goes shirtless to inspire the masses (and thumbing his nose at the emperor as well). It goes much deeper than that but that’s basically it in a VERY condensed nutshell.

    Wow! Didn’t realize I had remembered so much about his origins until I started drawing him this afternoon. Funny how that works, isn’t it?

    🙂

Leave a Reply

