Skip to content

#16. Esme, the dark Cutting

November 16, 2009
by

16-esme

Esme Cutting is an employee of Cafe Nareen, a small coffee shop kiosk in the Minneapolis Skyway. She works there with her twin sister, Bette.

Esme has a talent for magic that influences the emotional state of human beings. She is good for business because she excels at instilling a sense of longing in her targets.

Esme Cutting is a recurring character from a collection of story ideas that explore the magical and supernatural people and places around the Twin Cities.

Some sketches

16-esme-sketches

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Crash! Landen permalink
    November 16, 2009 4:50 pm

    Very nice art! Again, you might not see it, but I see a little Paul Pope (maybe with a tad of Bill Sienckiwicz… spelling?). Not ‘just like’ but similar. I like this a lot.

  2. javen30 permalink
    November 17, 2009 10:30 am

    I think I see what you’re getting at. Maybe the big fat blacks and the jaggy organic-feeling lines might be setting off your Pope-sense.

    I know Bill S.’s work, and yeah, I think that his aesthetic is what I’m after. And I can see some of that in the Pope stuff I glanced at.

    I appreciate the positive feedback! Thanks!

  3. November 17, 2009 1:36 pm

    this is a beautiful drawing.
    very well done, nice inks.

  4. November 20, 2009 2:51 am

    I dig the finished art and the character concept, but also the roughs below in the blue-line. The urgent purse-digging pose has good energy with the tense legs and the way the head and arms are on-task busy.

  5. javen30 permalink
    November 30, 2009 12:07 pm

    Thanks guys!

Leave a Reply

