Skip to content

#8 Avalon Defender and Pilot

November 8, 2009

Ok this one is a bit half-arsed – This one took longer than expected and I had to call it quits at the 2hr mark.

avalon_defender

Avalon Defender and Pilot

7 Comments leave one →
  1. J9Naimoli permalink
    November 9, 2009 12:16 am

    still outstanding!

  2. Crash! Landen permalink
    November 9, 2009 4:01 am

    I was going to ask you about posting your Azure characters… I posted a couple from my own soon to be rejected Zuda attempt and started thinking, “I’m giving the element of surprise away, just by showing the character design…” I know you kind of answered that in another post (saying you couldn’t say anything about certain characters)… But aren’t you kind of giving away some of the ‘element of surprise’ just by showing the characters (and cool stuff like above)? Or are you “not worried about that”?
    Me personally, I’ll still read, but I’m somebody that likes to know as little as possible about movies before seeing them, so maybe it’s just me…

    • November 12, 2009 3:01 pm

      Hey Crash,

      Yeah – I am right there with you. I like knowing as little as possible as well and where to draw the lines is something I have had to really map out. Some of the characters here will evolve by the time you see them in the comic. I’ve also made it a point not to do certain characters and if you will notice many of them are just labeled “scout” or “infantry”…I just can’t give too much away. Also – You’ll notice the lack of bios. Ia am writing them/have them written, but I can;t put any of that down here right now. Most of these guys are teases…some are more important.

      Oh I got surprises dude…Just wait…;)

  3. November 12, 2009 1:20 pm

    Hi,
    I am a comic book publisher based in Atlanta GA. I love this design! You could build entire world around this design.
    Finish it!
    Mark

    • November 12, 2009 3:46 pm

      Hey Mark – thanks mate! Well met and what publisher might I ask? And yeah – this will appear in a much more finished version in the comic Azure as Tyler mentioned. I tried to keep these designs to under 2hrs so that I can get all of my other work accompished, so when they hit the 2hr mark I just stopped 🙂

  4. November 12, 2009 1:59 pm

    Mark… Make sure to check out Dan’s comic Azure at Zuda comics. I imagine this design WILL show up in the elaborate Azure world he’s creating over there.

    Crash!- I can understand your hesitance about giving away the element of surprise for your stuff, and worry it might lessen the impact of it’s “big debut.” But, having participated in a couple of Zuda competitions, my take is, the world at large isn’t gonna care until you make them care. No one is going to not vote for you or your comic because they saw a preview of a design you posted earlier. In fact, much the opposite. I mean, just from the stuff you’ve been posting, you’re on my radar…and I’ll be looking forward to seeing what you’re doing and probably give it a closer look in the future.

Leave a Reply

