Skip to content

#7 I. Oblongottus

November 7, 2009

#7. I. Oblongottus, a man of evil genius and extremely long winded monologues…

IOblong

…And I made to 7…

 

IOblong2

I 'blacked in' the stroke around IO.

Look better this way?

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. J9Naimoli permalink
    November 7, 2009 9:04 pm

    Cool!!!! great concept!

  2. November 8, 2009 12:22 am

    I love that all yours are all “Glowy”

  3. Crash! Landen permalink
    November 8, 2009 2:33 am

    Thanks J9! I was trying to create my own version of one of those old DC Mad Scientist villains.

    And ones like this aren’t glowing so much as I’m emulating/ripping off some of my favorite artists of all time. Without that little stroke that I put around I. Oblongottus, his shape would kind of get lost in the black… So I do what I saw Alan Davis do waaaaaay back on an early issue cover of Excalibur. He put the same kind of outline around a janitor that was standing in alone on the cover against a black background. When I try to do the shadowy stuff like Gene Colan, I don’t use this, but the cartoony stuff, I do. I’ve seen lots of other artists like Todd McFarlane do it, also, especially in the issues he did with Spider-Man. That’s where I stole it from. Maybe I’ll post a version without it to demonstrate… Sorry for being long winded. I’m like I. Oblongottus, I guess.

    And are you BlacqueSabre Caine? Or does someone else use the same icon?

  4. Crash! Landen permalink
    November 8, 2009 2:38 am

    Does the 2nd one look better? You’re nodding aren’t you?

  5. November 8, 2009 12:26 pm

    glowy is better
    much like dr. sivana inspired, eh?
    colon is a fantastic inspiration!
    you do some solid work, my friend.

  6. Crash! Landen permalink
    November 8, 2009 2:17 pm

    “much like dr. sivana inspired”
    YES!!! I couldn’t think of his name for some reason, but yes! I always liked Captain Marvel better than Superman as a kid.

Leave a Reply

