Skip to content

30/30 Awards?

November 4, 2009

Hey everybody!

I don’t think I’m alone in thinking the first few days of 30/30 has been an overwhelming smash success.

I wanted to just open up for discussion the possibility of, after the challenge is over, doing some sort of “Awards Ceremony” or in some way acknowledging people’s work.

I never saw this challenge as being a contest in any way shape or form, and I don’t want to pursue that.  Still, it might be nice to find a way to acknowledge creators after it’s all said and done.

I have a few ideas…

– Different categories of awards

– A pool of prizes generated from among us (ie. Participant X sends a comic to Winner of Award Y)

But I’d like to just open the floor to you guys on this one.  What do you think?  Good idea?  If so, how should it be run?  And does anyone want to volunteer to take the lead in organizing the “Award Show” if we decide to have one.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. atombat permalink
    November 4, 2009 10:30 am

    Yeah, I’d throw in a free signed sketch or 2 into the prize pot, even though it should be more about the art ;).

  2. November 4, 2009 11:09 am

    Maybe at the end we can have a “Secret Santa” and draw random names and trade a sketch…Just an idea

    I agree though, the first few days have been great! Looking forward to the next couple weeks!!

  3. November 4, 2009 11:32 am

    I’m with Atombat – I’ll throw in a piece of art – in fact it can be whatever said person wants…err – within reason.

    Another prize I’ll offer is a donation of 3 months premuim membership on Deviant Art.

    Rock on with your bad selves.

  4. November 4, 2009 11:54 am

    I will do a sketch of anything. This sounds cool. Multiple categories will help those that are writers distinguish themselves from those that are artists.

    Would the participants be voting or outsiders?

  5. J9Naimoli permalink
    November 4, 2009 11:56 am

    I’d down with it! sounds like a fun idea 🙂

  6. J9Naimoli permalink
    November 4, 2009 12:03 pm

    i wouldn’t know what to give… but i do live near Jay & Silent Bob’s Secret Stash, so maybe some Stash goodies?

  7. November 4, 2009 1:25 pm

    Lets see here: like AtomBat, Saulone, & lilmikeegee, I’ll throw in a sketch of “Whichever Superhero” a winner would like (within reason).

    I also agree that multiple categories, not necessarily centered on art but on creation, would help everyone.

    Regarding votes I’d say it should be participants (although if we all vote for our own stuff this will go nowhere) 🙂

  8. November 4, 2009 8:00 pm

    I’ll offer a consult on any writing. I don’t consult on art.

  9. Crash! Landen permalink
    November 4, 2009 10:43 pm

    Yeah, I could join the ranks of the sketch people…

Leave a Reply

