Skip to content

Who Are We? – John Lees

November 1, 2009

Hi, I’m John Lees, and I don’t feel important enough to write about myself in the third person.

Looking at the impressive resumes of the other people taking part here, I feel grossly underqualified, having not had a single comic book published.  So, rather than listing my accomplishments in the field (there aren’t any) I’ll tell you a little bit about myself.  I was born and raised in Rutherglen, a little town just outside of Glasgow, Scotland so obscure and insignificant that I tend to just tell people I’m from Glasgow to avoid confusion.  I’ve always loved writing, and I’ve long loved comics, so it was perhaps inevitable that those two loves would converge into an ambition to become a comic book writer.

I’m still pretty new to the practise of actually writing comic book scripts, and my first proper comic book project is currently in development.  Meanwhile, I spend more time writing about comics, in my bi-weekly column Comic Book Club on Project Fanboy.  I’m hoping that this 30 Characters Challenge will help expand my portfolio of characters, and that in the process of creating them I’ll end up with the skeletons of stories I can develop into new comic book scripts.  I also hope this set daily task will help me get into the routine of writing every day.

I look forward to taking part in this challenge, to sharing my characters and learning about everyone else’s.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2009 6:13 pm

    John,

    Welcome. Don’t feel underqualified. We’re all at different places. I’m in your camp. Just trying to get in the routine of writing daily (even if its for 30 minutes).

    Would love to see Glasgow. What months would you recommend I visit? Summer I take it?

  2. johnlees permalink
    November 4, 2009 6:59 pm

    Summer, winter, odds are it’ll be pouring with rain whenever you stop by. 🙂

    Thanks for the welcome, it’s much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

