Skip to content

#1. McCallister

November 1, 2009
McCallister

McCallister

Age: 37
Occupation Prior to the Event: Biker Gang Leader

What would you get if the world flooded over and a biker gang leader became the leader of a band of scavenging pirates bent on living off what little is left of humanity? McCallister was the ultimate scavenger before the event – a mercenary of sorts for major crime organizations, a former boat captain in the Navy, and a damn fine barbeque chef. He formed the Kings shortly after the first of the major floods to strike the major continents, and began taking over U.S. Military vessels to build a pirate fleet to collect and protect resources. When McCallister attempted to take a League vessel he was met with a white flag and an offer to join the League – an organization of like-minded, mostly former criminal leaders who have taken over most of the remaining landmasses 11 years after the event. Seeing McCallister’s brutal tactics on the water in action, they knew they had a new recruit and a cunning leader for their surface warfare forces.

Like many of the affiliated pirate gangs, McCallister’s men all bear a tattoo showing their allegiance. Theirs is a logo from a fast food chain and where they got their name.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. johnlees permalink
    November 1, 2009 7:26 pm

    That is one hell of a drawing. I am perenially jealous of people with this kind of artistic talent. And you seem to have set up a really interesting story to go along with him too. It’s like a not-crap Waterworld – I APPROVE!

  2. November 1, 2009 7:37 pm

    John, if you’re new to Dan’s work, you need to read AZURE over at Zuda comics. (There’s a link on the site.) Great, great stuff.

  3. November 1, 2009 9:07 pm

    Hi John! Thanks so much 🙂 I’ve been limiting myself to only 2-3 hours for these because I’m slammed this month. to kill two birds with one stone a lot of these characters are concepts or backstories for Azure characters. Definitely check out the link and thanks a ton, and to you too Tyler!

    This is going to be a crazy month 🙂

    ~Dan

  4. johnlees permalink
    November 1, 2009 9:11 pm

    Crazy, indeed. I’ll be sure to check out Azure!

  5. November 1, 2009 11:38 pm

    Ok, I mean this in the nicest way but looking at your work I feel like I’ve volunteered to play hockey on a peewee league that also has Wayne Gretsky on it 🙂

    Great job man I LOVE Azure and can’t wait to see where you take the next chapter.

  6. November 2, 2009 12:44 am

    Awesome John 🙂

    Apollo – haha – nah. Azure was technically my first comic. I did some pinups and a few sequential pages when I was in high school ages ago, but that;s about it. I have done concept art for a while though, and that’s essentially what this is.

    Thanks a ton 🙂 Season 1 was a real learning experience. I don’t think I even got the style down until page 21, and I’ve spent the hiatus in-between making pages and honing my process…I’ll be drawing Azure stuff non-stop for a while…

  7. November 1, 2009 7:47 pm

    Here’s hoping for more “Big Fish” being vivisected….:)

  8. November 1, 2009 9:11 pm

    I love the jacket. Very stylized and well drawn.
    And the coloring is sensitive.
    Great job!

  9. Crash! Landen permalink
    November 1, 2009 11:15 pm

    As always, very cool Dan! He looks ‘snakey’ enough…. Can’t wait to see him make his Azure 2.0 debut.

Leave a Reply

